2008-04-27


Today was beautiful. It was sunny so we went to the beach with the dogs. I took pictures of the landscape. I want to paint portraits with landscapes in the background--like portraits by Ingres and the Renaissance masters. I want to pay homage to the beauty of San Francisco.

When it comes to art, I picked a very European city to create in. If I moved to New York my art would be more esoteric and conceptual. If I moved to L.A. my art would be more pop. I like what San Francisco does for my art. My art is young, but classical. If my art were to resemble anything it would resemble French-style.

And even though I live in a modern mid-rise, my whole life is very old and European. I look up and down my window and talk to my neighbors. I walk to my neighborhood market and greet lots of people on the way. For fun, I eat caviar weekly and sip fine teas from exquisite tea sets (I have multiple).

I really do love my luxurious life. One day I pulled up to my expensive garage in my E class Mercedes and the security guard saw me get out with my groceries, my fabulous savoir-faire outfit, and a smile to match. "That is what life is about" he said, "I pray for it daily".

And truely, I bitch and moan about my lack of work and cry about my best friend who is dead, but I don't have the pressures and fears others have. People say to me I'm calm, and that's the reason. My life is very privileged.

That's why I get to hang out at the beach. That's why I get to make art in the studio and dream about paint instead of getting caught up in my concerns about money.

I am sad that my best friend is dead. I am sad about the loss of lots of things this whole year. What I'm not sad about is my beautiful complacency. Because of my complacency, I dodge disappointment and relish my life. I am beautiful, healthy, alive and creative.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?