2016-05-22


It seems my trajectory in LA has been about burning bridges. But the longer I live here the more I discover that others have done the same. A lot of bad blood everywhere. Simply put, most people just don't get along. And if they do, it's a strained begrudged relationship. The way I hear people talk about so-called friends...

Help! I'm in the ghetto! I'm surrounded by mediocre people talking shit about mediocre people. I'm beginning to understand what is really going on.

Hence the distance from the game, the posturing, the opportunism, the wolf-like behavior. It isn't for me! Though I did participate. I can see so clearly now. There are so many stunts, so many calculations. Most things in the so-called art world are constructed to appear as if they're not constructed. For example, posting an image of a painting you supposedly like whilst tagging the artist and gallery: More than likely a stunt to get into bed with said artist and gallery, or at the very *tiny* least, hope they notice you for even a second...

All of it screams desperation.

And trust me, the worst is knowing that none of it adds to shit if you're mediocre. No amount of kissing ass, no amount of money, no amount of "connections", no amount of Ivy league schools. The so-called art world is about as big as the gap between Gwyneth Paltrow's thighs.

The goal then, now that I know this, is to make art on my terms. Imagine that! An artist who simply produces.

I'm okay with taking my time. I'm okay holding out my hand and saying no. I don't have time for phonies, socially-constructed art world scenarios and "coincidences", dingy parties, pointless galleries that fizzle out in two minutes, designer clothing-clad hookers called "advisors", rich west side fatties desperate to be cool with their "interdisciplinary" gallery programs, etc.

Don't worry, I don't want your invitation. I got my smudge stick waving in the air to ward off your art world ghetto.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?