2016-05-11


Saw an old friend today. I did not reach out to hug him as I would. I did not converse with him as I would. I did not get off the phone, nor did I mask my indifference to seeing him. Even in the doorway as we passed and he waited expectedly for a hug I did not do anything.

Boundaries. Yes, I have them. Feigning affection, I can't. Engaging in "keeping face" in order to prevent you from feeling weird, I can't.

It's the weirdest thing when someone signals they don't like you, but when faced with you, actually expects you to engage in an act of fake friendliness. I can't.

And today he announced his engagement. As if that would compel me to get over myself and yet again, celebrate him. But I can take a hint. You don't actually like me. Do me a favor and drop the act.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?