2016-04-21


I resent this pressure to be a "professional artist", but in a lot of ways the order works out. Professionalizing yourself allows for an art career.

I do, in fact, sense much resistance from others from taking me seriously as an artist. This is even after a solo show in L.A.

So I am thinking about what's missing.

For one, an available inventory of completed new work ready to go. I don't need a million things, but I have to "finish" things as I go along. That is, get them ready to hang and ready for display. Especially in the event of curator's coming to the studio. If they're coming, they need to be able to visualize a piece in a space, even if it isn't necessarily for a project they are working on.

Two, since I'm unknown, I need a better website. And the work on the website needs to be inventoried and explained. This is how people familiarize themselves with the work.

Three, the work needs content, and it needs to be clear there is content, even if it's esoteric. A flat show, like the one I had, will have people take you less seriously.

Four, public image. From what I've observed, artists in the serious art world do not express themselves publicly. They hide behind their work. As much as I resist this, maybe I need to follow. Maybe I don't want people thinking more about me than my art...

That's all I can think of at the moment.

I must announce: I give myself permission to make more art than see it.
I give myself permission to read less about art and engage myself with my own content.
I give myself permission to socialize less and make more art (because from what I've learned, even when you socialize and support, it doesn't guarantee you'll get it back.)

I give myself permission to retreat into a world of art career building. My priority needs to be on making a lot of strong work and building my resume since currently it is small.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?