2016-01-31


Disconnected from all social media. Nothin'. I needed a break.

Worked a booth at an art fair. Ran into a lot of people: "Let's keep in touch...what's your instagram?" It was nice to not have to connect with people the way we're encouraged to connect today: in a noncommittal fashion, instead of developing actual relationships. It is how you retain your "network", your "connections". Notice how I didn't say friends. Most people aren't friends and never have any intention being your friend. They just want that link for just in case. If anything, they want to watch you.

But after the fair, I don't want to give my normally open access to vampires. I like being an open book. In that context which I'm not getting anything back, I will give to those willing to earn in.

I'm on my soapbox for a number of reasons. The art world as of late has disgusted me. There is a lot of noise (distraction). Further and further away I've been pulled from the point of it all: the love of art. Petty politics have nothing to do with art. How people act has nothing to do with art. Art is why I sacrificed so much. It is the stuff that gives me energy. And I was wondering why I was so psychically drained.

It's perfect timing. I am going back into my studio officially on Wednesday. I have pretty much summed up my research. I'm ready to work. It's now about my art exclusively, and art I love. It is not about who is going to see it, not about how good it's going to make someone look, not about the money it's going to make, not about any of that ego-driven stuff. It's about art and only art.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?