2015-11-30


Wrapped up an interview today. A video documentary coming shortly. It's amusing. It's amusing in the act of making it. It's amusing that it's happening.

Trying to remember that someday this will be normal. Someday this will be frequent. Trying to play it cool.

Sometimes I am up at night thinking about things that don't matter. I am looking forward to a future in which I have many important concerns: How am I going to ship that large sculpture? How am I going to interest the audience? How am I going to upstage myself?

I am thinking now about upstaging myself. I am thinking about the elephant in the room, and how to expose it. Realizing if I want to go anywhere I have to break the social contract. Risky? Indeed. But quite frankly, some things need to be said. Do I have the balls? Probably not. Still, I can challenge myself.

I have learned a lot. I only know people with tepid careers. I am observing the similarities. I am identifying the traps. It's not about who you know. It's not about your gallery. It's not where you went to school. It's YOU. Are you courageous enough to break the social contract?

Am I willing to burst the bubble? I just realized any kind of art that ever moved me was political. Art that targets the social contract. Don't talk about money. Don't talk about privilege.

I am reading, preparing, and thinking. I am doing my homework.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?