2013-10-25


I am not the brand of cool one is familiar with in L.A. Where it is calculated by perfect dress, existential distance, and feigned boredom, I am just cool because I'm comfortable with myself.

I just turned 32. I am not exactly the strongest, most confident person alive, but I certainly don't care about a lot of the things that might concern a person less in-touch with themselves. For one, I already have a lot of love so I don't have to search for it outside of myself. Secondly, I have a lot of wealth which permits a lot of safety. I don't have to vie on shallow terms, or at least, on terms of fierce survival, because I already have security.

Being a confessional artist completely aware of his creative purpose, I do not pretend to be cooly in-control of my personal expression, even though I am quite in control.

I point all of this out because I have observed a great discrepancy between myself and the social dynamics of the greater art world. It is a cool kids club.

And what constitutes cool? Certainly not my combination of brazen informality and formal politeness. In fact, I get very impatient with how badly bred most people are: "Doesn't anyone know to introduce anyone??".

Everyone likes to think they are different so they can take an entitled stance. I like to think I am different so I can stand out and be memorable.

I am glad I am not too cool.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?