2011-05-17


Part of my survival has been forcing a vainglorious outlook. I think I've convinced myself. I've painted four self-portraits since February. It has also helped me understand ugliness in others.

I think it is time to calm down. I am up and down about hurrying to get into a gallery because I know when I die it won't matter.

Out of 16 pieces I've started since February, all but 6 have been painted over. This is liberating. It is a feat to admit to myself when a painting is weak, or I've lost a connection. I understand and accept that some pieces are building blocks to powerful work.

I think what I've done is pretty powerful. My new barometer for success is when people say "wow". I understand what people think isn't everything. But popular approval is certainly something.

Okay, so I'm pop. I enjoy marveling people. I want to move people. I want to elicit in others what I felt when I looked at a portrait by Klimt.

My connection to painting is constantly accompanied by zeal. It is rock and roll, like a good concert. It is elevating.

This is why I want to be known. I want to be a rock star. I also understand how meaningless it is. At the end of the day, I understand what matters.

I guess that's why it makes it so easy to exist.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?