2011-02-14


It hasn't even been a month since my show in January, but because I haven't really felt like painting since then I have guilt.

You know you're an artist when you're thinking about painting when you aren't painting, or at least having guilt for not painting. It's so stressful.

I've been reading a book about "making it", or at least pursuing gallery representation. Basically, unless I work harder I am not a serious painter.

I always take it out on myself.

It is true when I looked at my work hanging up at my show it was painfully static, as if it was bad. One constructive criticism from a guest validated any fear I had about making work that could be better.

Very stressful. Art is supposed to be fun, yet there's always that pressure to do better, especially when public approval is placid. It annoys me when my work doesn't thrill my audience. That stresses me out too.

I just can't take a vacation from painting. I can't help thinking about it.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?