2017-09-05


Finished the show. Had the opening. Second solo show in LA worked out great. By great, I mean, I'm happy with it and it looks good. Plus, there was a great turn out. Had three advertisers feature the show so there were also plenty of folks I didn't know. I like that about LA. There is a lot of support here.

But now that the show is done and I'm creatively exhausted I have time to think about goals. Mainly, who do I want to be and where do I want my art to go next. That is, physically where do I want it in the world. My observation has been that many LA artists get ghettoized. They show and show and show in LA--and that's fine--but it ends there. The community supports the local artist, and that's that. So although its better to show than not show, it is expensive to show and it's a lot of work. Personally, it is not enough of a pay off to see my work in many spaces. Not that art necessarily makes money (at least in LA--and I know this from working at 5 galleries over the course of three years). But in an artist's career, they deserve more opportunity. More opportunity for sale (by reaching outside of one city), more opportunity for press, and more opportunity for institutional placement.

For the amount of stress and work and money involved in putting together a show, I want career advancement. Having a lengthy CV that consists of 95% Los Angeles showings is not career advancement, it just means you showed a lot in Los Angeles.

I want my work to reach outside of Los Angeles. For one, I think my work is less suited to the scene, and the trends, of Los Angeles, despite the wonderful support. Los Angeles is a perfect environment to produce art. That's the next step forward: How do I reach the other major cities.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?