2005-04-17


Energy-exchange is imperative to art.

They do not teach this in school.

I often wondered why my schoolmates' art was stale and flat--why everything seemed so contrived and hallow.

I understand now. There is no depth or heart.

They do not teach us how to put heart in our work, how to be 'one' with the work.

It is all technical. And technical is base.

I was discussing this with a model who told me she knew whose art would be beautiful just by watching them draw. Those who were anally-fixated on the details produced bad art. Those who swept the canvas with an effortless dexerity produced 'good' art.

Now what is good art? Good art has depth. Good art comes from an unthinking place. Good art is cathartic. Good art is an energy-exchange.

You give and you get. If you work with the elements and go with the flow, your art will be flawless.

I experimented with this last night. I worked with my feelings and constructed a portrait. I thought about energy and transfered it to line. Everything worked out and it was unlike anything I've ever created before.

I can keep this up and embellish it further. It is the spiritual, metaphysical, and energetic qualities that will make my art astounding.

I'm excited. I know I can do something that moves people forever. I know I can finally become one with myself and my art.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?