1970-01-09


Last night I went to a party with a "mystery" theme.

One straight man was cast as a gay man.

His impression was scathing.

Now, whenever Will and I encounter homophobia--whether it be in a movie, on the street, or in our families--we speak our minds.

But last night was different. It was a party for Will's work so I had to "behave".

But I thought the gay impression was distasteful and justification to be outspoken.

"That is lame" I said pretty audibly, but I was quickly oppressed. I guess making a scene wasn't worth it.

But still, it was offensive and being silent was the worst punishment.

There were two black men present. If someone made a Black impression everyone would have come unglued.

But it's perfectly acceptable to belittle gays.

I'm not stupid. It's not like I'm so disillusioned that I think straight people are accepting in any way.

I know exactly what they say amongst other heterosexuals. They laugh and that's pretty human. I laugh at them too and pretty much everyone else.

< >




Newest Older Profile Sign Host Design
# Gay Diary ?